Hamburg Portfolio Review
Closed
since
22 May 2022
9:59 PM

About

We are pleased to announce the second Hamburg Portfolio Review. Photographers from all over the world are invited to submit their work.

Our primary goal is to establish a new platform for the international photo scene in Europe. We want to create opportunities for aspiring photographers and contemporary storytellers from all over the globe and convene members of the worldwide photographic community to meet, help each other, have fun and exchange their knowledge and ideas.

The Hamburg Portfolio Review offers photographers the opportunity to present their work to international experts in the photographic industry. A top-class jury will screen all applicants and select 100 photographers, who will be invited to join the Review in September. The Hamburg Portfolio Review will be held virtually. During the One-on One Portfolio Reviews, the chosen photographers will each meet 4 of about 50 photo experts from a wide variety of sectors and showcase their work in an exhibition.

We will give aspiring photographers a voice and visibility to their work by establishing contacts with publishers, media houses, museums, festivals, foundations, universities and institutions.

There are no genre requirements. However, the focus is on narrative photography, not on advertising imagery.

The Hamburg Portfolio Review targets those who are sincere about photography. For whom photography is not just a hobby but a professional visual medium to address contemporary issues. We are curious to discover new photographic work from all around the globe, image-makers and visual storytellers that have developed their unique voice and have something to express through photography.

The Hamburg Portfolio Review is a collaboration between the publishing house Gruner + Jahr with the media brands STERN and GEO and the University of Europe for Applied Sciences. Kindly supported by Canon Europe, the Hamburg Ministry of Culture and Media, Intesa Sanpaolo, and the Altonaer Museum. We are looking forward to your work!

What winners receive

  • The possibility to present and discuss their work with 4 of about 50 internationally known experts from different photographic sectors
  • The chance to showcase their projects in an exhibition
  • The opportunity to establish relationships with international media houses, festivals, publishers and foundations
  • Hamburg Portfolio Review offers you the chance to build up a network of contacts and gain recognition within the photographic world

How to enter

All photographers over 18 years are invited to submit their work. Each participant may submit two projects with 5-10 images or one project with 20 images. Call for entries is between 15th April and 22nd May 2022.

FAQs

What is the purpose of the Hamburg Portfolio Review?

With the Hamburg Portfolio Review, we want to establish a new professional development platform in Europe for the international photo community. Our mission is to create opportunities for emerging photographers from around the world regardless of their nationality, ethnic background, gender or financial status and give voice and expression to creatives aiming to present their project(s). The intention is to create an event with an international and diverse outlook, so we would especially like to invite photographers and reviewers from under-represented countries and regions in Europe, Africa, Asia and Latin America. The Hamburg Portfolio Review enables young talents to present their work in a professional environment and provides a unique chance for them to discuss their project(s) with top-notch professionals in the photo industry, whom they otherwise might not be able to meet in personal reviews. We will link the participants to the regional publishing industry, art foundations, museums, festivals and international organizations.

What is the Hamburg Portfolio Review looking for?

The Hamburg Portfolio Review targets those who are sincere about photography. For whom photography is not just a hobby but a professional visual way to address contemporary issues. We are curious to discover new photographic work from all around the globe, image-makers and visual storytellers that have developed their unique voice and have something to express through photography.

Timeline

Online application platform opens April 15, 2022, submission deadline: May 22, 2022 (23:59 CET) Of all the applications received, a jury will review the work online and select 100 participants for the Hamburg Portfolio Review. Announcement of participants: July 4-8, 2022, via email The Event will take place virtually on the weekend of September 16-18, 2022.

When will I know if I have been selected?

The selected participants will be announced on July 4-8, 2022. We will notify you via email.

Why do I need to include a portfolio in my application for the Hamburg Portfolio Review? Portfolios and already existing photos are work samples that help us understand the candidate’s photographic style and thematic orientation.

How detailed should the portfolio be?

Projects with more than 10 images must be submitted in two parts. Please add "part 1" and "part 2" to the folder names.

The portfolio should sufficiently outline the character and purpose of your project(s). Category 1 (allows 2 Projects): Project A, 5-10 images, Project B, 5-10 images Category 2 (allows 1 Project): Project C, 20 images

Are there any genre requirements for the portfolio?

There are no genre requirements. However, the focus is on narrative content, not on advertising imagery.

How are the participants of the Hamburg Portfolio Review selected?

The participants are selected by a jury consisting of a team of picture editors of the magazines STERN, GEO and some other magazines of Gruner + Jahr and photography professors of the UE Germany.

Is there a registration fee?

Participation in the Hamburg Portfolio Review is free of charge, there is no registration fee.

How many participants will be invited to the Hamburg Portfolio Review? From all applications received, a jury will select 100 participants for the Hamburg Portfolio Review.

Technical data for online application: What is the maximum size for the application files?

CV: not more than 2 pages, biography: max. 1500 characters, the data size max. 1 MB. Portfolio/project: max. 20 images, each image 3000 px on the long side, default. Captions in the IPTC Metadata are required

Is it possible to apply as a team of photographers?

No, it is not possible to team up with other photographers. We only accept submissions by individuals.

Is it possible for one applicant to submit two different projects in two separate online applications?

No, we only accept one application per person.

Who is eligible to apply — is there an age restriction?

You are eligible to apply if you are older than 18 years during the application period.

Winners of past Hamburg Portfolio Review contests cannot participate again.

Is there anything important I must note before submitting work to the Hamburg Portfolio Review?

You must have the publication rights to the people shown on your pictures.

Is it possible to submit videos/moving images?

No, videos/moving images are not eligible. We only accept digital images as JPEG files.

Can I apply for the Hamburg Portfolio Review with a project that has already been published?

Yes, you can apply with a project that has been published.

Can I apply with a project that has previously been submitted to a competition?

You are eligible to submit the same project.

Is it possible to submit long-term projects?

Yes, it is. Please remember to indicate the timeline of creation and if it is an ongoing project.

What will happen with the submitted images?

We will use the submitted images for the selection process of the Hamburg Portfolio Review. Please note: The submitted images may be used for publications as part of the marketing activities (website, Instagram, Facebook, LinkedIn and mailings) of the Hamburg Portfolio Review.

Who do I contact if I have more questions about the Hamburg Portfolio Review?

Please contact our Hamburg Portfolio Team via: info@hamburgportfolioreview.de

Timeline

Call for entries open
15 April 2022
Submission deadline
22 May 2022
Announcement of participants
8 July 2022
Hamburg Portfolio Review & Exhibition opening
16 September 2022
One-on-One Reviews
17 September 2022
Panels and Keynotes
18 September 2022

Requirements

Profile

  • done

    Address

  • done

    Biography with up to 1500 characters

  • done

    Nationality

  • done

    Country of residence

  • done

    CV with up to 2000 characters (or PDF file)

  • done

    Birthday

  • done

    First name

  • done

    Last name

  • done

    Phone

Upload

  • done

    1 to 2 projects per submission

  • done

    5 to 10 files per project

  • done

    Allowed file types: JPG

  • done

    At least 3000px on the long edge

Descriptions

  • done

    Project description

  • done

    Project title

  • done

    Project year

  • done

    Project country

  • done

    Project location

  • done

    Image title

  • done

    Image date (year)

More details

For more information about the Reviewers please visit hamburgportfolioreview.de

Kindly supported by

alt text

Closed
since
22 May 2022
9:59 PM