Three photographers’ grants available totalling £10,000 to go towards the completion of an existing or new photography project
Open
until
20 October 2022
10:59 PM

By clicking "Start Submission", you agree to be contacted by the host regarding this opportunity.

About

  • Submit your portfolio for review, our jurors will pick a shortlist and if you have been selected you will be invited to book a slot come into Leica Gallery London to talk through your submission to our panel of jurors directly on Friday 28th October, 2022 from 9am - 2pm.

  • Supported by Leica and WePresent by WeTransfer, X1 (1) Winner, with the highest score will receive a grant of Five Thousand Pounds (£5,000), X2 (Two) runners up with the second highest and third highest scores will receive a grant of Two Thousand Five Hundred Pounds (£2500)

  • £5000 grant for the winner of the preview to go towards the completion of an existing or new photography project

  • How to Enter: Submit up to 10 images, they can be taken on any camera however smart phone\iphone images will not be accepted.

  • Judging Criteria: All Submissions will be reviewed by a panel of 3 jurors. Each member of the Panel will individually score each Submission using the following criteria: 

  • Category 1 (thirty-three (33) per cent): Quality of Photography (Composition, creativity, visual language, consistency of project, power of series, etc.)

  • Category 2 (thirty-three (33) per cent): Dedication to the Medium of Photography (Artistic integrity, photographic career accomplishments to date, vision of future achievement)

  • Category 3 (thirty-three (33) per cent): Sophistication of project (Quality of written descriptions, concept, level of relevance, and relevance of planned usage of prize money)

  • Fifteen (15) short list entrants with the highest total scores will be declared the potential winners of the Contest.

  • The shortlist candidates will be invited for an in person review for feedback and a winner and runners up will be selected from this shortlist. 

  • Leica Camera UK will review each submission to ensure the entrant is adhering to the Award Submission Guidelines

Juror information

Holly Fraser

Editor in Chief of WePresent by WeTransfer

Simon Fredrick

Photographer, Filmmaker and Master of Photography Judge 

Holly-Marie Cato

Leica Ambassador & Photographer

Timeline

Call for entries open
5 September 2022
Submission deadline
20 October 2022
Shortlist announcement
October 2022
Winner announcement
11 November 2022

Requirements

Profile

  • done

    First name

  • done

    Last name

  • done

    Between 21 and 100 years old (by Oct 21, 2022)

  • done

    Residing in United Kingdom

  • done

    Nationality

  • done

    Biography with up to 1500 characters

  • done

    Phone

Upload

  • done

    1 project per submission

  • done

    1 to 10 files per project

  • done

    Allowed file types: JPG, MP4

  • done

    At least 3000px on the long edge

  • done

    Videos: At least 1920px on the long edge, max 10 minutes

Descriptions

  • done

    Project title

  • done

    Project description

  • done

    Project year

  • done

    Project location

  • done

    Image description

  • done

    Image title

  • done

    Image location

  • done

    Image date (year)

  • done

    How would you spend your grant money?

  • done

    Why would this portfolio review be beneficial for you?

FAQ

Q. Who is eligible to apply?

A. This portfolio review is specifically for Black photographers

Q. Do I need to own a Leica to be eligible?

A. Owning a Leica camera or lens is not required to participate.

Q. Do my submissions need to be created on a Leica?

A. Submitted images can be made with any brand make or model digital or analog camera.

Q. Can I submit images made with my smartphone's camera?

A. Smartphone images are not permitted and will disqualify the application.

Q. Is there a fee to enter the contest?

A. There is no fee to enter.

Q. Will I receive a notification after I submitted my application?

A. Yes, all applicants will receive a confirmation email that your submission is now in review 

Q. How do I review my submission?

A. All applicants submit their project through Picter

Q. How many times may I enter the Award?

A. The Award is limited to one submission per applicant. Applicants may not edit once they submit their project. In addition, applicants may not withdraw their submission at any time. Additionally, the submitted image selection must not contain duplicate images. 

Q: What are the Entrant's Intellectual Property Rights when submitting an application for the Black History Month Portfolio Submission?

A. All Entrants retain all ownership rights to their entire submission. Entrants grant Leica Camera Inc. a license to use the submission in the context of and to promote Black History Month only.

Q. Who do I contact about my submission?

A. Please email marketing.uk@leica-camera.com

Open
until
20 October 2022
10:59 PM

By clicking "Start Submission", you agree to be contacted by the host regarding this opportunity.